Get a Library Card
Any resident of California can register for a card free of charge at any of the three branches of the Santa Clarita Public Library. Out-of-state residents will be charged $3.00 for a card. You can sign up for a card online and show ID to pick up your card in person, or you can register in person at any of the three Santa Clarita Public Library branches.
ID required is either a valid driver’s license or DMV ID with your current address, or, if you don’t have a valid driver’s license or DMV ID, two pieces of identification, one that establishes your identity (preferably a government-issued identification) and something that also establishes your current address.
Parents must sign for children under the age of 18 and are responsible for all materials checked out on their cards.
You must have your library card to check out materials. We will provide a one-time courtesy look-up without the library card.
The Santa Clarita Public Library conforms to California law regarding the confidentiality of library patron records. This means that without written permission from the cardholder library staff cannot share any information about the record with any other person, even a parent or spouse. Please speak to library staff to find out to how to permit another person to access your record if you choose. Read more about the confidentiality of library patron records.
Loan Periods and Renewals
Reference Materials: Reference materials do not circulate
Adult and Juvenile Books: 21 days; 3 renewals
Sound Recordings (compact discs, cassettes, books on CD, playaways): 21 days; 3 renewals
Videos / DVDs: 7 days; 3 renewals
Magazines: 7 days; 1 renewal
How to Renew an Item
You can renew your items through our online catalog, mobile app or by contacting the library through phone or email. To renew items in our catalog you will need to log into My Account, next click on your name in the left hand column then select “Items Out” you will then have the option to renew items. If an item has an outstanding hold placed on it, it will not be able to be renewed.
How to Place a Hold
You can place a hold on an item through our catalog, mobile app or by calling the library. To place a hold on an item in our catalog, simply select search the catalog for the books or other library materials you need. Click on “Place Request”, if you have not previously logged in you will be asked for your library card number and PIN. Next select a pick up library and click Submit Request. Items usually arrive in 7-10 business days if the item is available.
Outstanding library book fees can be paid online here.
$.30 per item per day overdue for items checked out on an adult card
$.15 per item per day overdue for items checked out on a juvenile card
$10.00 maximum per item
$15 fee for items referred to a collection agency
(Lost status is triggered when overdue fines exceed $10.00)
$10.00 processing fee plus the actual replacement cost of the item
Replacement card – $1
Out-of-state card – $3
ILL fee – $3 (for items borrowed from outside the Inland Library Network)
Meeting room fees
Meeting Rooms are currently unavailable for booking until October 2014.
$11.20/hour local non-profit and resident
$22.40/hour non-local, non-profit and non-local residents
$33.60/hour private business
$20.40/hour after-hour fee
$77.10 per room janitorial fee